Spectrum XXI – Interfaces in Berlin

Heimathafen Neukölln, Karl-Marx-Str. 141, 12043 Berlin Map
Tickets: 12 € + sales fee


20:00 23:30

Ana-Maria Avram and Iancu Dumitrescu with Hyperion Ensemble

 –Spectrum XXI is the only worldwide event series dedicated to spectral music – one of the major trends in experimental and contemporary music that focuses more on the study of how sound itself behaves in a "live" environment. Created by Ana-Maria Avram and Iancu Dumitrescu, two of the genre’s foremost protagonists, the initiative will hold its tenth edition in 2016, visiting London, Paris and Berlin. For their Berlin edition, Avram and Dumitrescu will perform together with their Hyperion Ensemble at Heimathafen Neukölln. A book launch will take place the following day at Anagram Books.

Spectralism is a leading idea, a true paradigm in today's music, which brings together different musical trends that share similar concerns on sound, timbre, color, harmonic spectrum. As opposed to the French structuralist spectralism marked by the work of Gerard Grisey or Tristan Murail, ‘transformational’, ‘acousmatic’, or ‘hyper-’spectralism emphasizes the shift to a cooperative, non-hierarchical process shared between composer, performer and living sound. While both spectral traditions honour timbre as a central element of structure or language, the branch of spectralism promulgated by Dumitrescu and Avram believes in the phenomenological, dynamic presence of sound, and in composition as an experience of constant change rather than as a contained, pre-formatted object. According to these thinkers, sound has its own rules, and, when given attention, dictates both direction and movement.

Hyperion Ensemble was founded in 1976 in Bucharest by Iancu Dumitrescu and Ana-Maria Avram with the intention of exploring connections between archaic Romanian folk music — Byzantine music, folk traditions collected by Bartok, etc. — and contemporary avant-garde composition. It was described by The Wire as “a living workshop, a constant source of ideas and sounds.” Over the years, Hyperion has come to be known for its transformational, hyper-spectralist, and acousmatic performances. The group has performed internationally and premiered most of the major works by Dumitrescu and Avram, who compose both individually and collaboratively, as well as by other Romanian composers. Although the ensemble has undergone transformations in personnel since its early days, it has remained consistent in philosophy and intention. Its many members come from seven different countries, including Romania, Israel, the U.K, the U.S., France, and Germany. Members are: Tim Hodgkinson (clarinet, bass clarinet), Yoni Silver (bass clarinet, violin), Andrei Kivu (cello, tuba, trumpet), Edward Lucas (trombone), Colin Hacklander (percussion), Mircea Ardeleanu (percussion), Cosmin Postolache (percussion, metallic objects), Tijana Stankovic and Diana Miron (violin), Zsolt Sores (viola), Albert Markos (cello), Zachary Rowden, Shmil Frankel and Lurentio Cotac (double-bass), Guillaume Ollendorff (e-guitar). Conductors: Iancu Dumitrescu, Ana-Maria Avram.


Works by Ana-Maria Avram (all world premieres except for "Axis")
“Axis” for solo double-bass (soloist: Zach Rowden)
“Ellampsis” for ensemble and computer sounds
“Murmur (gamma)” for ensemble and live electronics
“Septem sermones ad Mortuos (II)” for ensemble and computer sounds

Works by Iancu Dumitrescu (all world premieres)
“Incandescent Colloids” for ensemble and computer sounds
Terra Nova Alpha for doublebass and percussions (musicians: Zach Rowden, Colin Hacklander, Mircea Ardeleanu, Cosmin Postolache)
"Catharsis (I)" for ensemble and computer sounds
"Chaos and Order" for ensemble and  computer sounds
"Microscopic High Energy" for ensemble and computer sounds

Related Events

Book Launch at Anagram Books, 20h

Accompanied by an exhibition of their musical scores, Dumitrescu and Avram launch “On the Metamorphosis of the musical text”, followed by a concert for electronic sources and few instruments. The concert programme is:

Ana-Maria Avram "Ambiguations for bass clarinets"
Iancu Dumitrescu "For electronic sounds" (title to be confirmed, world premiere)
Iancu Dumitrescu “Aura for bass clarinet and electronics"
Ana-Maria Avram "Yidam electronic music"


Spectrum XXI is realised through the support of the Romanian Community of Electronic Music – CREMAC, in partnership with CTM Festival (Berlin), NK Projekt (Berlin), Anagram Books-Berlin, South Place Ethical Society (London), Café Oto (London), New River Studios (London), CLSI (Paris).

Media partners: The Wire ( London), Radio Resonance 104.4 FM London, Romanian Cultural Institutes from  London and Berlin.

Spectrum XXI is a project supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union. Spectrum XXI – 2016, is a part of the multi-annual project titled “Interfaces”.